The Considerate Burglar

At the most famous Farang House in Thung Song, in the dead of the night, three young girls slept soundly. The cow dog from across the street was being unusually quiet, as was Garry the gecko.

A huge crash rattled through the house, quickly breaking the silence. I sat upright in the bed- panic rushing through my veins. Had I imagined the noise? Apparently not since Sinead was sat upright too, staring at me with her eyes wide open.

“What the hell was that?” I whispered

“Probably nothing” assured Sinead, “Maybe it was cow dog” although she didn’t sound convinced.

A second crash boomed violently through the house, followed by a sound almost like the shattering of broken glass. Sinead and I looked at each other in fright.

“That was definitely NOT cow dog” I squeaked.

Our bedroom door swung open. Behind it stood a terrified Kristin. She rushed into the room and jumped into the bed with us:

“I think someone is breaking into the house!” she cried in panic

“Oh my God!” I shrieked, “What the hell do we do?”

The fight or flight response had kicked in by this point, and so I did what any sane person would do in my position. I hid under the covers. Kristin stayed next to me. And Sinead, being the bravest of the bunch, grabbed the nearest weapon…a dangerous looking umbrella! She ran down the stairs, umbrella poised in front of her, shouting out insults in that crazy Irish manner of hers. Unsurprisingly the man who was attempting to climb the stairs took one look at this crazy farang woman with her wild hair, turned around, and fled out of the house.

We ran out to the balcony but only caught a glimpse of the man as he zoomed off on the back of his accomplice’s bike. We never did find out who smashed the window and broke into our house that night. And we never found out what they wanted. However, due to incriminating evidence, we did discover that this man was a local and not a farang. He had been considerate enough to remove his shoes before attempting to rob our house.

About littlelor

Recently returned from the adventure of a lifetime, I have crazy stories to share with anyone who is interested!
This entry was posted in Thailand Adventures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

